Phone Call 01793 828360
Location Dellers Garage, Hobley Drive, Swindon, Wiltshire, SN3 4NS
Time Monday - Friday: 8:30am - 5:30pm, Weekends: Closed


What is Tested in an MOT?

What is Tested in an MOT?

An MOT (Ministry of Transport) test, also known as an MOT inspection, is an annual test required for most vehicles over a certain age (typically three years old or older) in the UK to ensure they meet the minimum safety and environmental standards. During an MOT test, certified inspectors thoroughly examine various components of the vehicle to assess its roadworthiness. The following are some of the key areas that are typically tested during an MOT:

  1. Vehicle Identification: The inspector checks the vehicle's registration plate, Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), and other identifying features to ensure they meet legal requirements and match the records.

  2. Lights and Signals: Inspectors check all exterior lights, including headlights, taillights, brake lights, indicators, and hazard lights, to ensure they are working correctly and aligned properly.

  3. Steering and Suspension: The steering system, including the steering wheel, column, and linkage, is inspected for wear, damage, and proper functionality. The suspension components, such as springs, shock absorbers, and struts, are also checked for integrity and effectiveness.

  4. Brakes: The braking system is thoroughly inspected, including brake pads, discs, drums, calipers, hoses, and lines. Inspectors check for wear, leaks, proper operation, and adequate braking force.

  5. Tyres and Wheels: Tyres are inspected for tread depth, condition, and compatibility with the vehicle. Additionally, inspectors check for any damage, bulges, or cuts on the tyres. The wheels are also inspected for alignment, damage, and proper attachment.

  6. Seatbelts: Inspectors check the condition and functionality of seatbelts, ensuring they are securely anchored and can be fastened and released properly.

  7. Exhaust Emissions: For vehicles equipped with exhaust emissions control systems, emissions are measured to ensure they comply with environmental standards. This typically involves a visual inspection of the exhaust system and, if applicable, emissions testing using specialized equipment.

  8. Bodywork and Structure: The vehicle's bodywork, chassis, and structural components are inspected for damage, corrosion, and structural integrity.

  9. Fuel System: Inspectors check the fuel system components, including the fuel tank, fuel lines, and fuel cap, for leaks, damage, and proper sealing.

  10. Windscreen and Mirrors: The windscreen, windows, and mirrors are inspected for cracks, chips, and other damage that may impair visibility or compromise safety.

  11. Horn: The horn is tested to ensure it emits an audible sound of sufficient volume.

  12. Electrical Systems: Various electrical components and systems, including the battery, wiring, fuses, and dashboard instruments, are inspected for proper functioning.

It's important to note that the specific requirements and procedures of an MOT test may vary slightly depending on the type of vehicle being tested and any recent changes to regulations. Additionally, some vehicles, such as motorcycles and certain historic vehicles, may have different testing criteria.

Book your car in today

Get instant prices and book your car in at an approved garage today

Get Prices and Book